🕎Blognukkah Day 4: A Sabbath Day in My Life

“How much money would it cost for you to give up the Sabbath forever?” my former principal asked. At the time, I was keeping the Sabbath fully, and I figured that even if someone paid me a million dollars, I wouldn’t want to give up the holiday. Since then, I’ve wavered in my observance at times, but I’ve still continued to see the value in the Sabbath.

Anyway, yesterday was Saturday. So I thought it might be interesting to take you through a Sabbath in my life.
My boyfriend and I had avocado toast for breakfast. Afterward, we went for a long walk. There’s nothing super walkable in his area except a jewelry store, a drug store, a bakery, and the dollar tree. However, this did not deter us. We went to each of the stores in quick succession and laughed about how this was still fun, even though the activities seemed very mundane.

I took *gasp* a nap (I normally never nap) and wrote yesterday’s blog post in my journal. If you want to be super strict, Sabbath rules prohibit creation of all kinds, including writing, but I figure that as long as I don’t use technology, it’s a win.

For dinner, we went to an amazing Thai place. I have a running joke that the two of us look extra unhappy when we are hungry, so before we order anything out, I always ask for a picture. This one wasn’t too bad– I must’ve been happy from the day’s earlier events.

They gave fortunes at the end of dinner. Here were ours.


“Do you think they ever give negative fortunes?” I wondered aloud.
“If they did, no one would come back!”
Which is a valid point, but here’s hoping our fortunes come true anyway. After the restaurant, we ventured out to a lights show.

If you ever find a “hope” sign to pose in front of, make sure not to block the “p” 😂

And that was my restful day 🙂

Published by adventuresofagradgirl.wordpress.com

Hi everyone! I started my doctorate in clinical psychology in fall 2020. A google search revealed that there are no current grad school blogs for psychology students. Anyway, I happen to know a girl who wants to document her journey to getting a doctorate (spoiler: it's me). Welcome. Hope you stay awhile!

6 thoughts on “🕎Blognukkah Day 4: A Sabbath Day in My Life

  1. Happy you had a nice Shabbat.
    My own Shabbat observance has fluctuated. I definitely enjoyed Shabbat a lot more pre-pandemic! I quit for awhile, but am now trying to find the right balance of semi-observance (I no longer see 100% observance as a goal).

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started